Eggs or chicks?

Posted by: BJC

Eggs or chicks? - 08/17/05 11:50 PM

Hi I am new to raising chickens and have a question. The main reason I got chickens was for the eggs, but now am thinking that at some point I may like to let some eggs hatch (I know they have to be firtilized by a roo). I was just wondering if that would make them broody and if I would have a hard time getting them to lay again without them wanting to sit. I have RIR's, Aruacanas and a mixed breed. Or should I devote one or two for chicks and the rest for eggs? See I have little knowledge when it comes to chickens, but I am learning and to think I am a nurse.
Posted by: Rack

Re: Eggs or chicks? - 08/18/05 06:49 AM

I've just went through a hatch. Yes you will need a rooster. Most have attitude/mean and are not worth having since they tear up you hens.
I would order baby chicks first since you still have to raise them, but don't have to give shots... Have any chicks vaccinated for Mareks disease.
There is alot to raising chicks including temperature starting at 90 and each week reducing by 5 degrees, water can never be empty, chick starter sprinkled with chick grit, keeping cage clean, keeping them out of draft, keeping your hands clean when you deal with them, they must be isolated from the others for months until they are big enough not to be killed by the others and this can happen.
So you need alot of space to raise them since you will raise them for a while.
I would rather a hen raise her own, but I have had chickens two years and only one started to go broody and gave up. You can't make them go broody.
Incubating is not an easy task. It has a learning curb.
I would suggest if you have a good rooster wait til a chicken goes broody she will raise and it's much easier on you.
I am layed up at home and have nothing but time so I can devote alot of time to raising, but now I would rather let the hens do the work.
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Eggs or chicks? - 08/18/05 09:44 AM

bjc: