Chickens not laying

Posted by: Anonymous

Chickens not laying - 10/12/09 02:46 PM

I am new to chickens. I purchased my first chickens from a local farm. He had several chickens and I told him I wanted young layers. Four of the chickens I believe are Scott Greys and were said to be about 16 months old. Although I don't really know how to tell, they look old. I've had them for about 3 months and not 1 egg. I expected an adjustment period but not 3 months. Also, how old before most chickens start laying?
Posted by: Rhea Dean Carter

Re: Chickens not laying - 10/12/09 02:02 PM

The age of lay depends on a number of factors, one of which is breed. Some breeds start laying as early as 4 months old, while others may be 7-8 months old before they begin laying. If yours are 16 months old, they should have been laying for almost a year by now.
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Chickens not laying - 10/12/09 03:28 PM

Thanks, Rhea Dean. I've learned not to buy from that farm. I don't think he knows anymore than I do.
Posted by: Foehn

Re: Chickens not laying - 10/12/09 11:42 PM

If you don't know for sure how old a hen is, you can get a reasonable idea, by looking at their legs and toenails. Older hens tend to have drier, scalier looking legs whereas pullets will have clean shiny legs. Toenails may be longer and the tip of the beak may also be longer and more curved down on the tip, than younger birds. This is not accurate for age, but is an indication of old versus young. Hens like leghorns that have a taller comb, in older hens it may be well bent over and longer, and lastly, hens that have laid well and for some years, may have dropsy of the tissue at the rear of their abdomen.

I just hope the local did not pass off spent hens to you.
Posted by: Jocelyn

Re: Chickens not laying - 10/13/09 04:03 AM