eggs rocking.

Posted by: yes

eggs rocking. - 08/25/11 11:30 PM

Hi all, I'm a total beginner at chick raising, so please excuse the dumb question. One egg of mine has just now started rocking, how long does it usually take for the chick to hatch out?
Posted by: Wieslaw

Re: eggs rocking. - 08/25/11 11:48 PM

Welcome to the coop. It will hatch soon. How long have you been incubating? It takes normally 21 days of incubation for a chick to hatch.

Re: eggs rocking. - 08/26/11 04:29 AM

thank you for the welcome. It's the 21st day today. I haven't had much luck so far with them.

Re: eggs rocking. - 08/26/11 04:49 AM

Rocking is a good sign. It means it's alive.

Re: eggs rocking. - 08/26/11 07:13 AM

there hasn't been much movement for a while. Shouldn't the chick be trying to break his way out of the egg on the 21st day? Is it common for some hatches to take longer?

Re: eggs rocking. - 08/26/11 10:18 AM

I do not know if it is common but it can happen, if the temperature was to low. How many eggs are you incubating ?

Re: eggs rocking. - 08/26/11 03:07 PM

I had 12, but 6 weren't any good. So only 6 now. They still haven't shown any sign of hatching.

Re: eggs rocking. - 08/26/11 03:34 PM

Do you have something to candle them with? If not , you can check if they 'dance' when put in a bowl of hand-warm water.

Re: eggs rocking. - 08/26/11 03:46 PM

I just candled the eggs. I'm not sure what I am looking for. I don't hear any cheeping. There is no movement.

Re: eggs rocking. - 08/26/11 03:55 PM

The eggs all look the same. About two thirds dark, and the air sack.

Re: eggs rocking. - 08/26/11 04:06 PM

On 21st day you should see the head in the air sack, or at least the beak pointing up. Have you tried with the 'dancing'?

Re: eggs rocking. - 08/26/11 04:26 PM

No I didn't try that. What do you mean by "dancing"?
If the temperature was low throughout incubation, is there still a chance of some hatching?

Re: eggs rocking. - 08/26/11 04:27 PM