Topic Options
#100124 - 11/16/11 11:26 AM Can Pheasants or Chukars be kept with Chickens?
JoeG Offline
Coop Cleaner

Loc: NY
I Plan to get 2 Guinea Hens, 1 Rooster and 9 Chickens of assorted kinds. I am new to this. I have a Rabbit Hutch Built for two rabbits off the front, This wouldn't be a permanent Set up but could they be kept together for a little while, I am only thinking of getting a couple Pheasant or Chukars not both. Could they eat the same foods?
I do not plan on getting all of these birds, Just looking into option on birds that could be kept with my Chickens if I do Decide to add some. I do Plan to make an addition to my coop or build another.
8Easter Egg,5Ameraucanas
2SLW,2GLW
1White Leghorn,1Spec Sussex
2Guinea Royal Purples
2Peacocks India Blue/Blk Shoulder,1JadeSpalding PeaHen
2Royal Palm Turkeys
2Rottweilers

#100134 - 11/16/11 04:48 PM Re: Can Pheasants or Chukars be kept with Chickens? [Re: JoeG]
CJR Online   content
Coop Master

Loc: Montana
Temperament and diseases risks make mixing domestic and wild fowl a poor choice for a healthy happy feathered project. Zoos keep theirs separately, as housing, feed requirement are different. In most situations, it would be a short term pleasure. "For a little while" would likely mean that the pheasants would kill the young chickens, the Guineas would harass all of them. Even assorted chickens can be a problem, if you choose crested birds to keep with some other breeds.