Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#10042 - 07/17/08 04:42 PM 20 birds dead in 3 months!
Jrsygntbrdr1 Offline
Classroom Professor

Loc: Arkansas
I've been caring for birds for about 17 years now...but I'm at a loss. Here's what's been happening:

I'm wondering if something hasn't been happening in the feed???

First, we lost all 15 chicks that were hatched. They all died around the 6 week mark (Leghorn X Brahma crosses and Brahma X Australorp Crosses). Then we lost a Buff Orpington hen, 3 Black Minorca hens, 1 Leghorn hen...Honestly...I'm to the point of saying "What's next?!"

Fancy and Ugly (the Buff Orpington) died with similar symptoms. No lesions, just bluish black combs and blue faces...heart attacks I'm assuming? Both were healthy weights. Fancy was 2, Ugly was 5. I still have birds that are almost 10 years old...so it can't be age. There are no symptoms, lesions, no depression. One hen died from an egg issue in the repro tract. Egg shells were too thin from her advanced age and cut her up...so I dispatched knowing there was nothing I could do.

Otherwise all birds have died the same way. Most have been hens or young pullets. Had 10 6 wk. old pullets and 4 6 wk. cockerels all die within 2 weeks of each other. No stress, clean water, however I am chalking that up to the hens having feeds switched from a production to a breeder diet. (Dad didn't know any better...gathered eggs and put into incubator during the week I was at school.) We are attempting this again... frown

Any ideas? Is anyone else having this issue? Temps have been in the mid 90s, but none of my Asiatic birds are having the same issues as my others? I would have assumed the Asiatics would have been the prime candidates for heat related deaths?

#10043 - 07/17/08 05:50 PM Re: 20 birds dead in 3 months!
Foehn Offline
Administrator
Lord of the Fowl

Loc: New Zealand
Wow! My heart goes out to you.