Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#105143 - 08/08/12 03:43 PM still air V air bator
C5 Offline
Feather

Loc: MD, Talbot
I am wondering what is the best type of bator to use for the best hatch rate. Still air or one with a fan. I am new to incubation - got my eggs from e bay and hatch rate was low.
Appreciate any advice.

#105147 - 08/08/12 10:00 PM Re: still air V air bator [Re: C5]
Maria Ricardo Offline
Past Moderator
Coop Keeper

Loc: Hawaii
I use an incubator with a fan, it works well.

#105149 - 08/09/12 06:55 AM Re: still air V air bator [Re: C5]
Wieslaw Offline
Classroom Professor

Loc: Denmark
I think you should describe more details : what was the kind of incubator you had and what were the details about the hatch.
Did the unhatched eggs begin to develop at all? Or did the chicks die at some point and when? Was it the process of hatching itself that went wrong(chicks died in the last days of incubation?)?

If it is just a simple incubator with a single layer of eggs, then I do not think it matters whether it is with a fan or not. I do not have a fan and I have excellent hatches. No broody in the world has a fan running under her. You cannot expect the same hatch rate from the eggs sent with post.You can be lucky but there are no guarantees.

#105167 - 08/10/12 11:32 AM Re: still air V air bator [Re: Wieslaw]
C5 Offline
Feather