Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#105582 - 08/29/12 05:05 PM Cocci?
C5 Offline
Feather

Loc: MD, Talbot
I have a small flock of 15, 3 weeks old. One of my large chicks is listless, ruffled feathers and is off to its self. I have not fed medicated feed and don't want to. I am afraid that it could be cocci and I don't want the rest of the flock to be infected. The chick is eating and drinking but I have not noticed any blood in the droppings. Should I cull or isolate and treat and if so with what? What could I use naturally to help this bird? I am not really set up for isolation - could I use a large cardbord box in the coop or remove the chick completely? I am hatching as I type and don't want the new chicks to catch anything from me. I wash my hands well but germs grow. I am a newbie and am in need of sage advice.

#105587 - 08/29/12 11:26 PM Re: Cocci? [Re: C5]
Maria Ricardo Offline
Past Moderator
Coop Keeper

Loc: Hawaii
Yes, isolate the chick. Take a fecal sample to it checked to see if it is cocci. Usually cocci comes from the living conditions. Clean everything. Change the bedding. I don't know of a natural cure for it but it sounds like a internet search would turn something up.

#105593 - 08/30/12 04:28 AM Re: Cocci? [Re: Maria Ricardo]
C5 Offline
Feather

I am surprised I have a sick bird because the set up is completely new. New Coop, New equipment, never had any chickens in or around and was not out on pasture because they didn't have enough feathers to go out. They do now. I will clean everything. I isolated the chick last night and there are no droppings this morning to check. I will keep montoring it. Thanks for the help.

#105598 - 08/30/12 07:31 AM Re: Cocci? [Re: C5]
jonnydot Offline
Flock Leader

Loc: australia