Topic Options
#113727 - 01/29/15 05:13 PM Straw, sand or pine shavings
cinwri Offline
Chick

Loc: Arizona
Hi, I am new to having chickens and am wanting to know what is the best to use for the laying boxes, the floor of the coop and on the ground in the coop yard. I have 6 pullets, and 2 hens. Would be happy to get any advice.

#113737 - 01/30/15 05:18 PM Re: Straw, sand or pine shavings [Re: cinwri]
Moderator2 Online   content
Administrator
Flock Leader

Loc: Eastern USA
I like something soft in the bottom of the lay boxes to protect the eggs. For that I am currently using cut pieces of a shower mat, sort of rubbery. Then I use shredded paper (long ribbons not cross cut) for nesting material but straw would work well also. The floor of the coop should have an absorbent litter, pine/wood shavings work best. Straw is not absorbent. In the run I built up a deep base of sand. It drains well and is great for dust baths. You never want standing water in the run. I add pulverized lime stone from time to time to keep it from getting too acidic do to the manure. My run has a metal roof protecting it from rain so I also put straw on top of the sand and change the straw every so often removing much of the droppings with it but this is not a good choice if the straw will be rained or snowed on.
I wish you much enjoyment with your new chickens!
Welcome to the Classroom at the Coop!

#113743 - 01/31/15 06:23 AM Re: Straw, sand or pine shavings [Re: Moderator2]
Robbie Offline
Flock Leader

Loc: Ontario Canada
Chicken manure is acidic? So, compost made from it would acidify the soil? (oops sorry I don't mean to hijack the thread- should I re post elsewhere? ) I always used clean dust free straw in my nesting boxes, the hens liked it and liked to move the straw around. I'd change the straw regularly for fresh stuff.

Edited by Robbie (01/31/15 06:24 AM)

#113744 - 01/31/15 09:50 AM Re: Straw, sand or pine shavings [Re: Robbie]
Administrator
Flock Leader