Topic Options
#36345 - 09/08/09 03:30 PM what is causing this barring?
Mau Offline
Coop Keeper

Loc: United Kingdom
There is no mottling in any of my breeding birds so he can't have got it from a parent but this is a normal apparently healthy mottled cockerel has started to look slightly barred/cuckoo especially on the neck back and tail, but not quite like proper barring. The wings are just mottled. , What is going on? I think i remember seeing a picture in this forum which showed a barred mottled - is this something that can happen as a result of mottling?

#36346 - 09/09/09 06:35 AM Re: what is causing this barring?
Krys Offline
Feather

Loc: Minnesota
You bird does look interesting.

I don't know whether these pics will be of interest. These are a couple of my birds which are both mottled & barred. They are rapid feathering; I don't know whether this makes a difference. I Sorry about the pics I'm not good with a camera.

http://i660.photobucket.com/albums/uu328/Krys109uk/Mottledbarred.jpg

Here are a couple of pics of someone else's mottled & barred cochins.

I also have a couple of male which are mille fleur & barred; they look interesting, but have not got pics at present.

#36347 - 09/25/09 05:56 AM Re: what is causing this barring?
Lord Cluck Offline
Feather

Loc: United Kingdom
Here's a Pekin cockerel I bred this year that started life as a blue mottled, then began growing cuckoo mottled feathers, and finally moulted out into a hysterical blue/cuckoo mottled!

#36348 - 11/11/09 08:29 AM Re: what is causing this barring?
KazJaps Offline
Classroom Professor

Loc: Australia
In 'Genetics of the Fowl', there are photos of Ancobars (developed from Barred Plymouth Rock x Anconas). The homozygous B/B mo/mo roosters have excessive amounts of white on them, but not the B/b+ mo/mo hens.

The following is a ER/e+ (or E/e+) B/B mo/mo cockerel, but unfortunately, with a eumelanin restrictor of adult ER plumage:

Chick down:

------------
Grower:
------------
Adult: