Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#3976 - 01/12/03 12:48 PM Plucking and eating feathers
Carol Offline
Chick

Loc: Tennessee
Can anyone tell me why one of my hens has started to pluck and eat feathers from other hens? I have 16 chickens, including 13 hens and three roosters. The culprit hen is a Buff Orpington, (one of 5) and seems to be near the top of the pecking order. The other hens are a mix of dark feathered types. The other hens try to take the feather away from the "Plucker" and eat it as well. I fear they are getting the same idea.

My coop is about 66 square feet and the fenced outdoor run is about 20 by 40 feet. I am feeding layer crumbles with oyster shells. When we let them out in the morning, we throw out a couple cups of scratch mix, which they busy themselves with for quite a while.

Most of the flock has been molting for a few weeks, and some are just beginning to lay. (5 to 7 eggs/day) I'm new to chickens, about 6 months now, and don't know why they are eating the feathers.

Thanks for listening. I sure enjoy reading all your insights and humor.

Carol

#3977 - 01/12/03 12:57 PM Re: Plucking and eating feathers
Rob Offline
Ruler of the Roost

Loc: Pennsylvania
You will get plenty of ideas. I would hang a block of suet in the pen.

#3978 - 01/12/03 01:36 PM Re: Plucking and eating feathers
Anonymous
Unregistered

I'm not positive, but it sounds like it could be cannibalism and the only cure that I know of is debeaking. It seems extreme, but it works and the beaks eventually grow back.

Though, I seem to remember reading somewhere that it could be nutrition involved. Not getting enough protein or something like that, but don't quote me on that.

#3979 - 01/12/03 03:50 PM Re: Plucking and eating feathers
CJR Offline
Coop Master

Loc: Montana
Feather picking is just a bad habit--and often begins with boredome and the top hen or rooster will start it. The birds being picked seldom object--it is almost a social thing.