Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#40735 - 09/29/06 06:19 PM Lakenvelder Color Genes ???????
Anonymous
Unregistered

Can anyone tell me what color genes makeup the Lakenvelder color??

What varieties can be crossed to make this color? I may know the answer to this after I learn what the genes are that make this color. I am not a newbie to poultry genetics, but I have never studied the Lakenvelder color before.
Thanks

#40736 - 09/29/06 06:51 PM Re: Lakenvelder Color Genes ???????
Blackdotte Offline
Ruler of the Roost

Loc: Australia
As the required undercolour is blue/grey this would indicate ebeb,legs are slate so white skin WW possibly with Id.Basic colour is Silver SS,restricted by Columbian CoCo,with Hackle Black(from Barnevelders?)and white ear lobes(Columbian leghorn?).

#40737 - 09/30/06 09:14 AM Re: Lakenvelder Color Genes ???????
Henk69 Offline
Classroom Professor

Loc: Netherlands
Hi,
I'm a Lakenvelder breeder from Holland. I agree with the genotype eb/eb,Co/Co,S/(S) with additional melanizers. There's your basic Hackle black and at least a dominant head melanizer.

I crossed vorwerkbantam to red pyle e+ based dutch bantam. The result were buff columbians with basic hackle black and poorly melanized heads, but one cockerel showed an almost fully melanized head! All crosslings did not have a fully melanized outer rim to the hackle feathers.
Since the red pyle will not have any of the typical lakenvelder melanizers (except the basic hackle black maybe) at least the headmelanizer is dominant and not homozygous in my vorwerk showquality parent. Furthermore the hens from the cross were two types: a "light quail" type (additional melanizer) and a clean buff columbian type, all with poorly melanized head.
Note that the crosslings are e+/eb,Co/co+,s+/(s+), and heterozygous melanizers.