Topic Options
#48574 - 05/17/09 06:02 AM Need advice on pipped chick
Anonymous
Unregistered

I'm a teacher and I'm incubating eggs in my classroom for the first time so I'm not very experienced. Friday was the 21st day and there was no activity in the incubator. I went to school on Saturday with my principal's permission and candled the eggs to see what was going on.

I found one chick started to pip; his beak was poking out of the hole and he was peeping. The pip was in the middle of the shell, however and I've read that the hole should be further up by the fat part of the shell.

I'm very nervous about this little chick. I can't go into school today and check on him so I have to wait until tomorrow! It's a day and a half by itself.

Has anyone ever had a similar kind of experience? I know that there's not much I can do and if he hatches then he'll be ok in the incubator for a day. I keep imagining all these different things that could go wrong. Any advice?

#48575 - 05/17/09 06:50 AM Re: Need advice on pipped chick
Sdearmo Offline
Feather

Loc: Nebraska
For today, wait it out patiently. smile If it were me, I'd be helping the little guy out tomorrow AM if he's not out yet. Little by little help him out ... taking tiny bits of shell & membrane off where he's started to pip. I usually get a little warm water and dip my finger in it to dampen the membrane if needed (sometimes it is stuck to the chick). If you encounter any bleeding (from the veins that run around the inside of the membrane) then STOP for a few hours. These veins need to 'dry out' or the chick can bleed to death. Many would argue with me on helping a chick pip but others do help their babies out on occasion with success. Would love to hear how it goes!

Suzi
www.lifeonanacreage.com

#48576 - 05/17/09 10:04 AM Re: Need advice on pipped chick
Uno Offline
Lord of the Fowl

Loc: Canada