Topic Options
#57872 - 06/19/04 07:56 AM Any Idea what these are?
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hi,
I bought some mixed eggs off a guy a while back, i was told they included khaki cambells runners and "black coys" which after research we thought were "black calls"... i am in the middle of the hatch now and i have 11 out. 10 are the black coys/calls and 1 is a pekin (that i wasnt expecting!)
Its the black coys/calls i need help with.. 9 are black with yellow bibs and one is light browny with a yellow bib.
I am new to hatching ducks and have no clue if they are calls or not. could anyone help me identify them?

I'll get better pics asap

#57873 - 06/19/04 08:17 AM Re: Any Idea what these are?
Anonymous
Unregistered

oh, just an update on the hatch: i have 100% on the "black call" hatch!i have 1 apricot-looking duckling, 1 black&white, and 10 black with yellow bibs. my first ever duck hatch laugh My next batch are pipping now...

#57874 - 06/19/04 04:55 PM Re: Any Idea what these are?
Anonymous
Unregistered

TRy www.feathersite.com for help they have pics of adults and babies. I think the 10 that are black with yellow bibs are swedish black/blue ducks check it out,

http://www.feathersite.com/Poultry/Ducks/Swedes/BRKSwedes.html

#57875 - 06/20/04 03:46 AM Re: Any Idea what these are?
Anonymous
Unregistered

thanks, i checked out that page and i dont think its them. Its the bill and legs - mine have pure black, the blue swedish have mixed colour bills and feet. also mine are a really dark black - those are more grey/blue - ish.

Do they look ANYTHING like calls? i was told they were black calls... and i have never had call ducklings before, but i dont think they are confused black bibbed something?
I've searched through feathersite and the only thing they look remotely like are BEI

#57876 - 06/21/04 08:06 AM Re: Any Idea what these are?
Anonymous
Unregistered

Calls are small ducks so did they come out of smaller eggs and are they smaller then the pekin?