Topic Options
#588 - 08/18/02 07:32 PM Predators
Anonymous
Unregistered

I am new to chickens as an adult(had um as a kid) and am enjoying them alot. I have 20(16 hens and 4 roos)housed in a 14x12 area in my stable. The two outer walls are chicken wire with no holes we can find. The other two walls are wood. During daylight hours the flock has the run of my 3 acres and are tucked in each night. They seem secure but here is my problem. My sister lives 3 miles south of me and lost her entire small flock this year. She is very sad and I am worried about my flocks saftey. We think it was racoons but are not sure. We were able to "dispense with" 5 racoons but she still sees a few around. Her area was what we thought of as very secure, and simlar to mine. A friend said that if we sprinkled red fox urine around it would discourage coons, ferrets, and weasels. Does anyone know if this is true or have another idea? I thought of locking a dog in the isle at night but I have heard that some dogs can be ripped apart by the nasty things.I would be grateful for any ideas and I would like to get my sister started on another flock. Right now she won't get them because she feels they will just be killed. By the way my crew are 3 months old and so far I haven't lost any at all.

#589 - 08/18/02 11:11 PM Re: Predators
CJR Online   content
Coop Master

Loc: Montana
Chicken wire is tissue paper to a big dog-coon! You will need a solid wall or door to be safe and close them every night!!! Year around. You have been very lucky so far. Even my poultry house windows have 1/2 inch hardward cloth behind the glass, when windows are open, they are still even mouseproof. Try to think like a predator--how would you get to those birds?--then do your best to prevent it! Best of luck! CJR

#590 - 08/19/02 08:50 AM Re: Predators
Sadlm2 Offline
Chicken

Loc: California
At Last, perhaps I can help someone as you all have helped me!