Topic Options
#61065 - 05/02/04 11:24 AM gold fheasant dark throat
Kurro Offline
Feather

Loc: Spain
I have a gold fheasant normal, but I think I have a female with the dark throat mutation. Do you know if this mutation is dominant on normal gold?
Thanks, because she is laying eggs and IŽm not sure if I like get more dark throat. :p

#61066 - 05/02/04 02:45 PM Re: gold fheasant dark throat
Graciel Offline
Coop Keeper

Loc: New York
Hi, Kurro. I think it's recessive. Most of the different Golden pheasant mutations seem to be that way. I'm no expert, though, so maybe someone else has a more informed opinion.

Jennifer

#61067 - 05/02/04 02:45 PM Re: gold fheasant dark throat
John T. Offline
Coop Cleaner

Loc: Mississippi
There is a difference in the dark throat goldens in overseas collections and those in the U.S. Some dark throat are a natural mutation of the red golden and some are a result of a cross made to the amherst. In either case it is condidered an ordinary recessive mutation. If your female is a split and your male does carry the mutation the possibility of getting more dark throat is increased.
Most pheasant people will disagree on where and when the dark throat began to show up. The hen dark throat is easy to spot in a group of hens as she is a darker chocolate color, the roosters, when in full color isn't that much different than the red golden. The young of either sex are a dark chocolate color with a white spot under the chin.

#61068 - 05/06/04 02:47 PM Re: gold fheasant dark throat
Kurro Offline
Feather

Thank you for your help. I think this hen is dark because the dark mutation not because of lady. IŽll get some babies so IŽll get blood of refresh , althougt may be I get in the future some dark througt not in f1 I hope , and... well there are people who may like........... . Also I would be sure isnŽt any lady. Thanks again and sorry webmaster not write in the correct forum at first.

#61069 - 05/08/04 07:07 AM Re: gold fheasant dark throat