Topic Options
#62223 - 08/30/04 01:14 PM Waxing ducks
Anonymous
Unregistered

Can anyone tell me how to wax ducks to remove pinfeathers?? What kind of wax works best? How and when do you dip them-before or after neck/head removal? when they are still warm or cooled off? The more you can coach me on the better because this is new to me. I have muscovies.

#62224 - 08/30/04 02:08 PM Re: Waxing ducks
Rob2 Offline
Classroom Professor

Loc: Pennsylvania
I have never used wax but have read of it. It seems the wax 9is melted in the water, the duck is dipped then cooled, wax adheres to the feathers making them easier to pull? I think Stromberg or McMurray sell the wax.

#62225 - 09/09/04 09:55 PM Re: Waxing ducks
Richard Knauber Offline
Chick

Loc: Tennessee
Well, I'm not an expert but did wax pick 12 muscovies a few weeks ago. I slaughter by cutting the throat and hanging to bleed, removed the heads before scalding. I also pull the larger wing and tail feathers before scalding although sometimes they won't pull without tearing skin. If they pull too hard I just scald with them intact. I use a turkey fryer to scald in. Melted regular parafin wax, like you buy for canning jelly, in the scald water, it will float on top of the water. I couldn't find duck wax anywhere local and didn't have time to order some. I used the wax, added a squirt of dawn dish soap to the scald water and scalded like normal. When done with the scald lift the duck out slowly, letting the wax coat the bird and let it drain over the scald tank a few seconds. I then dropped the duck into a bucket of cold water to set the wax. Takes a while for the wax to cool all the way, maybe 5-10 minutes depending on temp of cool water, don't rush it. The first couple I did were still warm under the cold outside wax and it didn't take off the feathers as well. When the wax is hard start at the tail end and work towards the neck. The wax will peel off in big pieces taking the feathers and almost all the pins with it. Pe