Topic Options
#62355 - 09/19/02 06:30 PM tough meat
Anonymous
Unregistered

We ate one of our Cornish roosters tonight and it was very tough. He was very lean also, no fat. I am assuming that was why it was tough. What can I add to the diet to add fat? The flavor was great! I stuffed it with tangeringes, an apple, celery and an onion slice.

#62356 - 09/19/02 08:46 PM Re: tough meat
Anonymous
Unregistered

How old was he? I read somewhere here that if you let them get over a certain age they are tough. As for fat, corn will make them fat, I read(here again, this is a great forum to get info!), that scratch is not the best thing for them in large quantities, it also adds fat. Hope this helps, I am a newbie, you will probably get better info from others.

#62357 - 09/19/02 09:17 PM Re: tough meat
Anonymous
Unregistered

Jennifer, take a look at the "Butchering" thread, there is some talk there about tough meat.

Lee

#62358 - 09/20/02 08:49 AM Re: tough meat
Anonymous
Unregistered

The rooster was about 5 mos. old. Lee, how do you look up threads? Im new to the computer stuff. Thanks

#62359 - 09/20/02 09:25 AM Re: tough meat
CJR Online   content
Coop Master

Loc: Montana
You can also "bone" any tough meat and run it through the foodchopper, and use it like burger with whatever fillers (ei.,eggs) and seasonings that you like. CJR

#62360 - 09/20/02 09:34 AM Re: tough meat
Anonymous
Unregistered

Jennifer, in this "Processing & Cooking Poultry" section is a discussion on butchering.. I believe that's what Leee was talking about...
After butchering, how long did you let it "age"? it usually takes 12-24 hours for rigor-mortis to run it's course and the muscles to relax... though I've often heard of people killing a hen for sunday supper on the same day and it turning out alright.. I guess it would then just depend on how you cook it...