Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#65633 - 01/12/06 11:59 AM Isn't this NAIS unconstitutional?
Anonymous
Unregistered

Doesn't the NAIS program violate a grey area of the "searches and seizures" amendment of the US Constitution? I'm not a lawyer, but isn't anyone looking into that?

Also, if this program is so crucial and important, why is it initially being introduced as voluntary? Are people being coerced into participating? It seems that if a legal issue is currently unresolved regarding it's implementation, then any voluntary participation would mitigate the issue. If people are uncomfortable with this program, they should not sign up.

Personally, I think that a NAIS-type program is probably necessary in our country but my guess is that it violates the US Bill of Rights. For me personally to be OK with something like NAIS would require that written legislative guarantees be incorporated to ensure no financial burden be imposed which could severely impact the poultry hobbiest or the fancy. Otherwise, it seems very likely that yearly cost increases and impact can be imposed to slowly choke off people's poultry interests and livelihood.

#65634 - 01/12/06 02:12 PM Re: Isn't this NAIS unconstitutional?
Rob2 Offline
Classroom Professor

Loc: Pennsylvania