Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#67497 - 12/30/05 02:08 AM NAIS
Eowyn Offline
Flock Leader

Loc: California
Hi fellow coop members, I am not trying to start a controversial thread in any way, but want every one to be as informed as possible about what is going on right now with the new "National Animal Identification System", and then decide for yourself. I am a Southern Californian Mom/housewife/hobby farmer, who enjoys raising a small amount of chickens ect...on my small half acre property for the benefit of my children (to see a chick hatch, to have fresh eggs ect...). I have several friends who do the same, or have horses, and enjoy going for and evening ride now and then.
Our Government is trying to take away these rights... and they are doing it as I write this. What is now a "voluntary" program being pushed as a way to"protect americas animals". Is set to become mandatory as of Jan 1, 2008. Please notify as many as you can of this latest attemt to take away yet another freedom. Here are some links to better inform you

http://animalid.aphis.usda.gov/nais/index.shtml

http://stopanimalid.org/

http://www.poultrypress.com/hobby/

http://www.rddavis.org/equitation/freedom-vs-id.html

Below is an article from http://www.thepowerhour.com/news2/livestock_database.htm

This sums it up...

"ATTENTION

LIVESTOCK and HORSE OWNERS

ORGANIC and LOCAL FOOD CONSUMERS

THE USDA PLANS TO MAKE EVERY OWNER OF EVEN ONE HORSE, COW, PIG, GOAT, SHEEP, CHICKEN, OR PIGEON REGISTER IN A GOVERNMENT DATABASE AND SUBJECT THEIR PROPERTY AND ANIMALS TO CONSTANT FEDERAL AND STATE GOVERNMENT SURVEILLANCE.

Under the present USDA plan, as of January 1, 2008:

EVERY HOMEOWNER with any animals must obtain a 7-digit USDA ID number keyed to Global Positioning System satellite surveillance coordinates, with all the property and ownerfs information permanently stored in a USDA database.