Topic Options
#71809 - 01/16/04 08:13 PM Chick and box size
BMW Offline
Feather

Loc: Oregon
I am completely new to raising chicks and have read everything I can get my eyes on about it online. Silly that my forebears were all farmers and chicken raisers and now I have to read about it on a a computer and repeat all the mistakes they had overcome over the past 1,000 years. In any case, I have 10 hens all one week old today. I have them in a cardboard box about 2 feet by 3 feet. Plenty big I thought, but my chicks have begun to get huge in only one week and they have jumped out of the box! It is about 15" tall. I don't know what to do. How much bigger will they get before the 5-8 week threshold comes and I can move them into my nice new outdoor coop? Should I bother with a taller box, or is their growth geometric? Do they need to go into the garage already and be placed in a tall wire circle? I love the little gals and am very eager to not kill them or make them suffer unnecessarily. Any advice on the progression of their growth would be appreciated. confused

#71810 - 01/17/04 05:48 AM Re: Chick and box size
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hello,BMW, and welcome from another newbie! Where do you live? A lot depends on the weather you are experiencing at the moment, if you live in a mild climate or cold area,etc. I'm sure some of the other realy experienced people here will be able to give you lots of help, but they'll need to know a little more about your area. I know what you mean about them growing fast! Our first chick hatched a few weeks ago, and after 10 days, due to unforseen circumstances, I had to put him and his mum in the coop with the other hen and rooster. IMMEDIATELY he was jumping the 8" step up into the coop and jumping up and down out of the nesting boxes which are a good 18" off the ground (with the help of ladder here). I was amazed. Good luck.

#71811 - 01/17/04 08:07 AM Re: Chick and box size
BMW Offline
Feather