Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#75019 - 05/16/08 10:07 PM Straw vs. Shavings: Why the switch?
Jojuan Offline
Feather

Loc: Oregon
Hi! I'm new to The Coop. I had chickens 20 years ago when it was pretty standard in Eastern Oregon to use deep straw on the coop floor. While composting, straw produces heat for the hens during the winter.

Now, after reading dozens of posts, I see that cedar and pine shavings are the common practice.

I'm open to new ideas, but need to understand. Can anyone tell me the reason for the move away from straw?

#75020 - 05/16/08 10:30 PM Re: Straw vs. Shavings: Why the switch?
CJR Offline
Coop Master

Loc: Montana
Straw absorbs moisture and stays moist (WET), needs cleaning out quite often. That "heat" is better added to the compost pile! Dry kilned shavings stay dry for weeks/months. They do not absorb and keep moisture--are certainly lighter and much easier to clean out 3 or 4 times a year!

Try them and you will celebrate the difference! CJR

I live on a farm, with barley and/or wheat straw every fall--and it is NOT used in my poultry houses any longer (actually not for years), except to line nest boxes!

#75021 - 05/16/08 10:57 PM Re: Straw vs. Shavings: Why the switch?
Joachim Dippold Offline
Lord of the Fowl

Loc: Austria
Good Morning Jean,

Quote:
Dry kilned shavings stay dry for weeks/months. They do not absorb and keep moisture
Hmmmmm, okay, but then what does this dry shavings do at all? Now you got me confused!LOL! If it doesnīt absorb moisture and poop then whatīs it good for? Could you explain how it works? Iīm only curious, not meant to offend you.

Best greetings,
Joachim

#75022 - 05/17/08 05:40 AM Re: Straw vs. Shavings: Why the switch?
Rhea Dean Carter Offline
Lord of the Fowl

Loc: Tennessee
Joachim: