Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#76094 - 10/27/06 03:00 PM Making Plans
Lifelong Learner Offline
Chicken

Loc: Louisiana
Hi, All. I am thrilled to have found a group of experts!

I am a preschool teacher in New Orleans who would like to hatch just a couple of eggs in my classroom. I would then like to keep the chicks at home to lay eggs. It's a prime opportunity for me since there are very few neighbors at the moment. (Neighbors being my husband's reason why we could never have chickens.)

I'd like to hatch a couple at home, too. My daughter would LOVE it.

We tore down our house, so our 60' x 120' lot is occupied only by our FEMA trailer right now. We will be building a new house (10 feet in the air) in the near future.

So.

I'm looking for a breed that won't mind living on a construction site for a few months, is o.k. in the heat and humidity of the Gulf South, will lay eggs (maybe to hatch, mostly to eat), not be too loud, and will be docile pets for a gentle 10-year-old girl.

What breed would be good? Is it possible to find a source just for 2 or 3 eggs at a time? What incubation methods/equipment would you suggest?
I am trying to get an R-COM (which is so pretty and seems foolproof in the ads). My dear husband is resisting spending the money.

Sorry to be so long-winded, but I am a true beginner.

--Angelle

#76095 - 10/27/06 04:33 PM Re: Making Plans
Susie Offline
Lord of the Fowl

Loc: Arkansas
Well, my first thoughts for you are....
What will you do when 3 out of the 4 turn out to be roosters? This happens sometimes with hatches. Things work out to be 50/50 over the long-term but, for example, we once hatched 8 eggs and got 5 boys out of the deal.