Topic Options
#76687 - 09/21/05 08:29 AM Watery egg whites
Anonymous
Unregistered

Newbie here. Just got my pullets, day-old, in March, and they started laying in July. We bought a selection of "Rainbow Layers" from the hatchery, and have 13 different varieties in our 33 pullets. They are fed a good commercial layer pellet, 16% protein, a few vegetable scraps and egg shells, and we have recently started letting them out of the pen to range. My problem is that my whites are partially watery. When boiled, the outer part doesn't firm up right and is mushy. Can anyone tell me what makes them do this? I've always thought that watery egg whites were from old eggs. Do I need to add something to their diet? Let the eggs age a little before boiling? Thanks in advance for any ideas!

#76688 - 09/21/05 01:05 PM Re: Watery egg whites
Rack Offline
Flock Leader

Loc: Virginia
I'm not sure but mine freerange and if particularly hot they drink alot more water. I sometimes get eggs like this. New Mexico you must have hot weather. Watch how much they drink and see if drinking alot. Other than that I have no idea.

#76689 - 09/21/05 02:15 PM Re: Watery egg whites
Fowl Lover Offline
Coop Keeper

Loc: Nebraska
Somewhere there was a similar discussion recently and it was said you must wash eggs in water warmer than the egg. If the water is too cold the water actually gets in through the shell, apparently baby chicks can be drowned (in the egg) this way. Someone please correct me if I got that hot cold thing backwards. I think the discussion started with someone saying they had watery whites.

#76690 - 09/21/05 06:27 PM Re: Watery egg whites
Anonymous
Unregistered