Topic Options
#77293 - 06/25/04 11:52 AM Leg Bands for Show
Anonymous
Unregistered

I am new at raising chickens and just figured out how to enter my Polish rooster and hen in the county fair. The entry form required leg band #. I know what a leg band is, but I can tell my hens apart and have never used them before. Both my hen and rooster are full grown. I only need two, and you cannot buy just two. I did read somewhere that you can use cabel ties, but can you use them if you are wanting to show them? Can I get leg bands at a local feed store? If anyone knows about this, I would be thankful.

#77294 - 06/25/04 07:15 PM Re: Leg Bands for Show
J. Lewes Offline
Chicken

Loc: Nevada
i am wondering about this myself.
we only have 8 chix.
we can tell the ameraucanas from one another quite effortlessly.
however, not so w/our wyandottes. they are changing & we aren't always sure which is which.

#77295 - 06/26/04 08:28 AM Re: Leg Bands for Show
Anonymous
Unregistered

Yes, most feed & seed stores sell leg bands. Their supply might be limited. Also, do a search here [see top of page at right] for leg bands. smile

#77296 - 06/26/04 08:54 AM Re: Leg Bands for Show
Rog Offline
Ruler of the Roost

Loc: Missouri
Heres a good site. As good a price as I have found. Lots of choices too. Rog Bands

#77297 - 06/26/04 04:16 PM Re: Leg Bands for Show
Spotted Crow Offline
Ruler of the Roost

Loc: Massachusetts
Do you absolutely have to have leg bands to show your birds? I've thought about entering Obelisk.

#77298 - 06/26/04 07:27 PM Re: Leg Bands for Show
Anonymous
Unregistered

I buy my leg bands from a local grain/feed dealer store. I pay 10 cents per band. Number bands have to be ordered separately. I too will be showing. I currently use the bands to select my breeding stock and the rest will be culled.

Mike

#77299 - 06/26/04 08:48 PM Re: Leg Bands for Show
CJR Online   content
Coop Master

Loc: Montana