Topic Options
#78105 - 08/08/03 05:49 PM Silkies, space requirements?
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hello,
I am new to keeping poultry and would very much appriciate some help with this.
I am wanting to keep silkies and was wondering what the space requirements would be for each bird
-in the coop?
-in the run?
I have also heard Silkies dont perch, is this so? If this is incorrect and they do perch how much should I allow for each bird on the perch?

Thanks
Shane

#78106 - 08/08/03 06:26 PM Re: Silkies, space requirements?
Anonymous
Unregistered

It is said by some that chickens should have at least 4sq.ft per bird. Larger is great. Yes, silkies perch, but birds are individuals and so some may not perch. I think most do if given the opportunity. When my silkies perch at night they like to huddle close together-even in warm weather. I would allow at least 12" of roost space per silkie. They do not fly well so the perch should be not much over 2 to 2 1/2 ft. or higher if you have blocks or buckets for them to climb up on gradually.

#78107 - 08/08/03 06:35 PM Re: Silkies, space requirements?
Anonymous
Unregistered

My silkies will NOT perch. smile I have tried. I go out and try to put them up on the perch but they just flap and squalk and make a fuss. They all just huddle up on the floor in a big pile. It is very cute to see those fluffy little heads sticking up. smile

As to space inside and out... my general rule is 2 sq ft inside and 10 sq ft outside per bird. Some like more space outside but my silkies can come and go as they please so all they do indoors is sleep. They are outside as soon as the sun starts coming up and don't go in until almost dark. This is why I provide a good deal of space outside. smile

#78108 - 08/08/03 07:19 PM Re: Silkies, space requirements?
Anonymous
Unregistered