Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#78117 - 04/11/08 10:41 AM scratch vs. laying feed?
M. Molaison Offline
Feather

Loc: Georgia
I am new to chickens. I have a shipment of chicks coming to me from Ideal Poultry in a few weeks. In learning how to care for my new pets, I have encountered 2 different opinions on feeding them once they're laying.

One says, you MUST feed laying mash or pellets as their primary food source or they won't lay eggs! Some have insisted that even giving them too much scratch or table scraps will decrease egg production.

The other says they feed the chickens table scraps, let them free range, feed scratch, whatever, and the hens lay just fine. (Some of the folks who've told me this also say they offer oyster shells for the calcium and that that's necessary if you don't give the laying mash).

So is it really necessary to feed the special laying food? Or will they do just as well on a wide variety of whatever, plus oyster shells? Will they really eat the oyster shells voluntraily in sufficient amount to give them the calcium they need? I'd prefer to feed them things that are less processed if I can...

#78118 - 04/11/08 01:20 PM Re: scratch vs. laying feed?
J. Meyer Offline
Chicken

Loc: South Dakota
If they were mine, I'd offer the layer mash free choice, and give them scratch grains as treats. You will be rewarded with more eggs in the long run. Even if you free range them, you will still come out ahead.

#78119 - 04/11/08 01:49 PM Re: scratch vs. laying feed?
P. Smith1340 Offline
Chicken

Loc: Oregon