Topic Options
#78510 - 07/26/05 07:33 AM Rejected Rooster
Scott Stumpner Offline
New Egg

Loc: Missouri
Hey everybody, I have been visiting this web site for about 4 months to learn more about raising chickens. It has been quite helpful. I have a problem that I have not been able to find any info on and it may seem a little crazy but don't know what else to do. I bought 20 pullets in March of this year (Rhode Island Reds, Barred Rocks, White Leghorns, Buff Orpingtons, and Wyandottes) Two of them ended up to be roosters. That had not been a problem untill a couple of weeks ago when the roosters became (active). The roosters seem to get along together ok but, the hens only want to submit to the RIR not the Wyandotte which has caused an uproar in my hen house. The RIR is the dominant rooster and the hens seem to like him and will follow him everywhere. I have had to keep the Wyandotte separate from the rest because he really upsets the hens. He is really a nice rooster and I feel sorry for him and I'm not sure how to fix this problem. My question, (here goes) can you have a rooster neutered???. We have grown attached to all our birds and would like to keep them all if possible. If anybody has any ideas I would love to hear them. Thanks

#78511 - 07/26/05 02:16 PM Re: Rejected Rooster
Jrsygntbrdr1 Offline
Classroom Professor

Loc: Arkansas
You can, however, it is a very invasive operation. It is called caponizing. I do not suggest doing the operation though. It is used mainly for putting weight on the birds for butcher so the bird may and probably will gain more weight. The only real way to fix your problem is to separate the two roosters. The in-charge male is keeping the other male from breeding with his females. By doing this, he may also hurt your pet Wyandotte roo. Good luck and keep us posted.

#78512 - 07/26/05 03:59 PM Re: Rejected Rooster
Scott Stumpner Offline
New Egg