Topic Options
#78963 - 02/20/09 12:21 PM I want chicks!
Saraa Offline
New Egg

Loc: Minnesota
I'm very new to having chickens and I don't know all the terminology or what breeds of chickens I have. I have a black and white spotted rooster and a nice looking all black hen with a short red comb. They are pets for us, and our hen lays a very healthy looking egg everyday. I've only had her about a year, and she went through one stage of brooding in the Fall. We would really like some baby chicks for this summer. After reading through some of the other posts, I see that you can't make a hen lay on her eggs, the timimg needs to be right with the brooding, and it depends on what breed of chicken you have. I bought a little incubator and tried that last year with no luck. Do you think we will be able to have some chicks?

#78964 - 02/20/09 12:45 PM Re: I want chicks!
CJR Online   content
Coop Master

Loc: Montana
If she went broody last fall (sat in the nest, eggs or no eggs-- and squealed or fluffed up when you visited her and did not get off the nest overnight), she will likely go broody again.

However, she must lay a "clutch" of eggs first, then goes into a hormone change and becomes broody and SETS (or SITS). Each hen has her own number of eggs for a "clutch". It might be 10-15 eggs OR it might be 30-40 eggs.
So, obviously you do not want to leave her eggs in the nest--as the first laid eggs would no longer be fertile, and she must not have too many eggs to cover completely and safely. There is a few weeks break between going broody (hatching or not) and the system get ready for another laying session.