Topic Options
#79210 - 05/27/07 11:55 AM Wanting Baby Chicks
Anonymous
Unregistered

I have 13 hens and one rooster. I am completely new at this so your help is very much appreciated. I have been getting anywhere from 6-8 eggs a day. I want to let a few of those eggs go to see if we would be able to have chicks. But my hens seem to be laying in just 2 boxes. So what do I need to do that way I can save 5 eggs but the rest of the hens keep on producing? I don't have a incubator so that isn't a option at the moment. How can I let mother nature take it's course without stopping other hens from producing eggs?

#79211 - 05/27/07 12:33 PM Re: Wanting Baby Chicks
CJR Online   content
Coop Master

Loc: Montana
You cannot, this is all in the rhythm of Mother Nature!!

You cannot MAKE a hen set and hatch eggs-her own or others. It is bred in, and she will lay X number of eggs before she becomes "broody".

You cannot stop hens from laying!! And you cannot stop hens from laying in the same nest boxes!! (Wouldn't you like to crawl into a warm bed?)

You must know the BREED of chickens you have. Some are non-setter-breeds--makes no difference if they are laying fertile eggs, some breeds will never become broody.

If you do have a breed that is expected to become setters, you must WAIT until Mother Nature, "hormones", change to a setting mode. You cannot decide when!! Nor can the hen--she doesn't "decide", it "happens".

When a hen STAYS on the nest night and day for several days (eggs or no eggs in the nest), and fluffs up, and may squeal at you, gently lift her up (front end and peek) to collect any eggs--she is indicating she is "broody".