Topic Options
#79630 - 07/28/07 03:37 PM Another Newbie with Basic Questions
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting on the board. I'm David 45yr. from Denham Springs, La which is near Baton Rouge. I have 2 acres with a pond near a subdivision in a surburban area.
I have a few questions about layers, broilers and wanted to run my ideas by the pros on this board to see how they sound.
1. I want to get 10 layers in the fall for eggs for my family and my "maw and law and them". If I build a chicken tractor that is 8 feet by 12 feet, will that be enough room for 10 Rhode Island Reds? The coop area would be 8'x4' and the run, 8'x8'. They would free range a little but not everyday or all day long. I would plan to have 6 nest boxes in the coop.
2. I live in a surburban area with racoons around, so would you think that having about 1 foot wide of wire fabric under the coop perimeter would be enough to prevent the racoons from digging under the run? I also have access to a Haveaheart trap that is very good at trapping racoons if they hang around. I have a friend that put wire under the whole coop, but I thought that would get in the way of the chickens scratching.
3. Would would happen if I let them free range in my vegetable garden. Would they destroy the crops or just make a small impact on the things I would be growing?
4. I like the idea of growing 25 Cornish X in the spring to raise for broilers. If I bought straight run chics, would the males be crowing by the time I butchered them at 8 to 10 weeks old? On one border of my property, there is 5 backyards from a subdivision so I could not have a lot of noise going on out of respect for the neighbors. I like the idea of raising my own meat birds, but on the other hand I can go to Wal-Mart and buy a whole dressed bird for about $3.10 that came from Pilgrims Pride.