Topic Options
#8136 - 01/19/05 12:38 PM How to add new birds to established flock?
Anonymous
Unregistered

hello I am a dairy farmer in addison vermont I have a Question a bout How do you add new hens to a flock I have 18 barred rocks 18 RIRs 6black sex links and a couple gold hallcross any way last fall i was gien 4 white pullets put them in the coop and the other hens killed them
I would like to add more chickens but how do you do it? tanh you for any help Ray

#8137 - 01/19/05 01:58 PM Re: How to add new birds to established flock?
Moderator2 Offline
Administrator
Flock Leader

Loc: Eastern USA
Click on the search at top right. Enter adding new chickens in search feild. Choose search all open forums . This should get you started.

#8138 - 01/19/05 06:23 PM Re: How to add new birds to established flock?
Diana Jean Offline
Chicken

Loc: California
Hi rbodet3,
When we add new chickens to those who have all grown up together we put them in a cage inside the coop for anywhere from a few days to a couple of weeks until the "coop group" gets used to the new chickens. The new chickens get fed and watered inside their cage until you are ready to let them out. My own feeling would be that with your group you would want to keep the new guys in their cage for maybe a month! Hopefully not, but I think that's what I would do. Anyway, good luck to you! Hope all goes well next time!

#8139 - 01/23/05 02:37 PM Re: How to add new birds to established flock?
Sunni Ten Offline
Flock Leader

Loc: Colorado