Topic Options
#85778 - 07/23/08 11:42 AM 8-week-old Fading
Jojuan Offline
Feather

Loc: Oregon
This marvelous Plymouth was our firecracker from the start - bold, curious and into everything. This morning she wouldn't come down from the roost area. Lately, we've noticed she's feathering out slower than the other Plymouth with a decidedly rumpled look and seems increasingly listless. Feeding, water and droppings all appear normal with no other symptoms...but then, I'm a rank novice with chicks. The other 5 girls all appear healthy. Is there something I have overlooked? Please, I need advice or suggestions, quick! A million thanks for your help!!

#85779 - 07/23/08 05:48 PM Re: 8-week-old Fading
J. Meyer Offline
Chicken

Loc: South Dakota
Check her for external parasites. Look around the vent, and under her wings. It's possible that she might have a bad case of mites or lice. Also possible that she might have worms.

#85780 - 07/28/08 04:00 PM Re: 8-week-old Fading
Jojuan Offline
Feather

Loc: Oregon
Thanks, JHM, for the tips, but I learned about an astonishing remedy. Soon after I sent out my plea, I received a call from a local keeper who reported similar symptoms and a marvelous treatment.

I was desparate enough to try it even though it sounded kooky! Make a gruel of cooked oatmeal (with milk) with yogurt added after it's cooled (so as not to kill the probiotics). Within 24 hours I could see improvement in the little one. Within 48, the entire flock of six were noticeably friskier.

I have continued the treatments every day since, except for today. I'm very curious about how such a treatment could cause such immediate effect. I have a feeling I will be learning more and more about chicken health. Thanks again for replying.

#85781 - 07/28/08 05:17 PM Re: 8-week-old Fading
K. Gunn Offline
Bantam

Loc: North Carolina
I do yogurt with added probiotic powder and scrambled eggs cooled for pale combs and crops and watery stool. Works like a charm.