Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#87002 - 06/15/05 06:01 PM Really bad wet cough
Shoofly Offline
Flock Leader

Loc: Florida
Hello! Well, I have about 9 chicks, three of which are Americanas. When I got home from work today, I noticed that one of my Americana girls had a very wet sounding cough. She does not have a runny nose, nor swollen eyes and seems to be acting normal otherwise.....at least so far. Now that they are all fluffed up and ready for sleep, I can hear her and it just sounds awful. Definitely worse. She coughs and then shakes her head as though really congested, but nothing comes out of her. I checked her mouth and throat to make sure she wasn't choking on something---can anyone help me figure out what to do?? I am new to chickens and all my babies are about a month old. I would just cry if anything happened to them. Do I need to seperate her? I don't know what to do. I read several of the past postings, but no one mentions a very 'wet' sounding cough. I don't want to lose her and know how quickly birds go downhill.... Thanks, Monica

#87003 - 06/15/05 09:44 PM Re: Really bad wet cough
Mr. Magoo Offline
Flock Leader

Loc: Southern Pacific
yes if one of your birds gets sick you should separate it to protect the others and to help it rest etc.
not sneezing but coughing right? and just little chicks still at 1 month. looks like you are in florida so it must be warm, but are they still inside?
i wish i could recommend one of the antibiotics added to water that are commonly used for chicken respiratory problems (myacins), but i havent used them for chicks before, maybe some other visitor here will have some experience with chick illnesses.
definitely separate, give clean water food and make sure the bedding is cleaned out for her and for the others.

#87004 - 06/15/05 11:16 PM Re: Really bad wet cough
Jrsygntbrdr1 Offline
Classroom Professor

Loc: Arkansas