Topic Options
#88045 - 03/13/08 05:29 AM Tips Needed for First Time Showing
Paint Filly Offline
Feather

Loc: Maryland
This is my first time showing chickens in 4-H. I would like to show Cochin bantams. I already have a black and a buff. I am planning on getting some more from McMurry Hatchery very soon. The only problam is that I have to order at least 25. I am planning on getting the 25, picking out the best ones, and selling the rest. What should I look for, how much should I sell them for, and most importantly, can any one give me some tips of showing (i.e getting ready, the day of the show, exc.)?

#88046 - 04/01/08 05:22 AM Re: Tips Needed for First Time Showing
Freds Fine Fowl Offline
Chicken

Loc: Pennsylvania
There is a DVD Titled The Beginners Guide to Raising and Showing poultry....

It has a very long.... looooong, segment on showing birds, specifially in 4-H

You might want to get a copy of that. Do you not have a poultry 4-H leader to help you?

One other method of getting your chicks, is to get chicken friends together and combine your order through McMurray. This way, no one ends up with too many birds. You won't really get much for the birds you decide so sell, unless you raise them until around 6 months and sell as point of lay hens and the others show their adult feathering for proper examination.

By then, you've spent lost of $$ on food and care, so there isn't really a gain to be had.

Best of luck to you, with all your Cochins!

#88047 - 04/05/08 06:29 PM Re: Tips Needed for First Time Showing
J. Meyer Offline
Chicken

Loc: South Dakota
I was a 4-H leader for around 20 years. I have 4 children who all graduated from 4-H, and did very well showing their birds. One son had grand champion poultry at our local show 7 years in a row.